The female reproductive system is a localized body system located in the pelvic cavity. It consists of the primary sex organs and accessory organs.

The primary sex organ of a female is the ovary. Females have right and left ovaries. The ovaries produce egg cells, also known as gametes. The ovaries also produce the female sex hormones, estrogen and progesterone.

Egg cells produced by the ovaries enter into the female reproductive tract, which consists of the right and left uterine tubes, uterus, and vagina. The female reproductive tract functions to provide a location for fertilization, implantation, development and delivery of an offspring.

Figure 1: Illustration of the female reproductive system.