The lymphatic system consists of an interconnected network of lymphatic vessels, lymph nodes, the thymus gland, and the spleen.

The lymphatic system is a part of the immune system functioning to:

  • Circulate lymphatic fluid
  • Clean lymphatic fluid
  • Return proteins to the blood
  • Absorb dietary fats
  • Manage interstitial fluid volume
  • Protect the body from non-self entities

This system includes the thymus in the chest, the spleen in the abdomen, and the lymphatic vessels and nodes spread throughout the body.

Figure 1: The lymphatic system.