There are three main types of Radioactive Decay: alpha, beta, and gamma.

The image shows a generic atomic nucleus with alpha, beta and gamma radiation emitting from it.

Unstable nuclides that break down eject material in the form of alpha, beta, or gamma radiation. They do this until they have reached a stable state where the nuclide is held together tightly.